Laban

In your shop end of February!

In 1981, John and his brother founded the Laban pen factory in their hometown of Houtong ─ a village in north-eastern Taiwan… read more

Skeleton Fountain pens by Laban

Laban Fountain pens

History

In 1981, John and his brother founded the Laban pen factory in their hometown of Houtong ─ a village in north-eastern Taiwan. From the outset, the founders set out to use noble materials in the creation of their pens, notably silver, gold and rhodium. However, they did not market them under the Laban brand, but sold them to other manufacturers.

In 1993, after creating a series of filigree pens (such as the Skeleton), Laban pens (fountain and ballpoint) became world-famous. John decided to pursue his dream by creating the Laban brand and selling his pens directly and through retailers. As success grew, Laban entered into a partnership with the Vatican Museum in 1997, creating models to be given as gifts. The most beautiful drawings from religious culture were showcased.

In 2004, the brand received its first award: best writing instrument from Lewis & Clark, the UK’s Royal Academy of Arts, for its limited edition Dragon pen.

Other models with different styles followed. These include the Galileo series, pens made of metal featuring engraved geometric patterns embellished with diamonds. This series was selected for the cover of the June issue of the famous international magazine Pen World. Or the 325 series: lighter, two-tone resin models in a predominantly pearly white. Not forgetting the Mento pen, made from German rubber and then covered by a master artist with ten layers of urushi lacquer.

After more than forty years in business, Laban has mastered the techniques of pen making, whatever the materials used (resin, metal, mother-of-pearl, etc.). The brand is constantly demonstrating its originality and always offers a highly varied range.

“We believe in filling our souls by writing. As we enter our fifth decade, Laban has no doubt that it’s all about the initial intention.”

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top

Laban

Dans votre boutique fin février !

C’est en 1981 que John fonde, avec son frère, l’usine de stylos Laban dans sa ville natale de Houtong ─ un village du nord-est de Taïwan… tout lire

Stylos-plume Skeleton de Laban

Stylos-plume Laban

L'histoire

C’est en 1981 que John fonde, avec son frère, l’usine de stylos Laban dans sa ville natale de Houtong ─ un village du nord-est de Taïwan. Dès le départ, les fondateurs on a cœur d’utiliser des matériaux nobles dans la création de leurs stylos, notamment l’argent, l’or et le rhodium. Ils ne les commercialisent cependant pas sous la marque Laban, mais ils les vendent à d’autres fabricants.

En 1993, après avoir créé la série de stylos habillés de filigrane (comme le Skeleton), les stylos Laban (plume et bille) acquièrent une renommée mondiale. John décide donc de poursuivre son rêve en créant la marque Laban et en vendant ses stylos directement ainsi que par le biais de détaillants. Le succès grandissant, Laban établit en 1997 un partenariat avec le Musée du Vatican : elle crée des modèles qui seront destinés à être offerts en cadeau. Les plus beaux dessins de la culture religieuse sont alors mis en valeur.

C’est en 2004 que la marque reçoit son premier prix : celui du meilleur instrument d’écriture décerné par Lewis & Clark, l’Académie royale des arts du Royaume-Uni, pour son stylo en édition limitée Dragon.

Originalité et audace

D’autres modèles aux styles différents se succéderont. Ainsi la série Galileo, des stylos fabriqués en métal qui mettent en valeur des motifs géométriques gravés, agrémentés de diamants. Cette série a été sélectionnée pour la couverture de l’édition de juin du célèbre magazine international « Pen World ». Ou encore la série 325 : des modèles plus légers, en résine, bicolores à dominante blanc nacré. Sans oublier le stylo Mento fabriqué à partir de caoutchouc allemand puis recouvert par un Maître artiste d’une dizaine de couches de laque urushi.

Après plus de quarante ans d’existence, Laban maîtrise parfaitement les techniques de fabrication des stylos, quels que soient les matériaux utilisés (résine, métal, nacre, etc.). La marque fait constamment preuve d’originalité et propose toujours une gamme des plus variées.

« Nous croyons qu’il faut remplir nos âmes en écrivant. Alors que nous entrons dans notre cinquième décennie, Laban n’a aucun doute sur le fait que tout repose sur l’intention initiale. »

Panier
Retour en haut