Sailor

The history of the brand began in 1911 when Mr. Sakata and his brother founded the Sakata Manufactory, a company producing solid gold nibs… read more

Sailor fountain pens

Sailor inks

Sailor accessories

history

The history of the brand began in 1911 when Mr. Sakata and his brother founded the Sakata Manufactory, a company producing solid gold nibs. In 1917, the company changed its name to the Sailor Pen Sakata-Manufactory Co. and began to design its first fountain pens. The name Sailor was chosen by Mr Sakata in honour of a British sailor he met in 1911 who gave him a fountain pen.

The company gained significant credibility and recognition after Imperial Prince Hirohito visited the factory in 1926. Honoured and encouraged by this mark of confidence, the engineers designed ever more innovative and unique models for the market, which reached its peak in the early 1930s.

In 1949, the company invented the plastic injection moulding machine, which enabled it to create the first models with this material. Until then, only ebonite and celluloid had been used by manufacturers. This new material was to open up all the creative possibilities.

Always ahead of its competitors, Sailor created the first truly functional ink cartridges for fountain pens in 1957 and consequently invented the word “cartridge”.

The company’s market position was further strengthened in 1969 with the development of the first 21-carat gold nibs, which offered the user a unique smoothness and elasticity on paper.

From the 1970s onwards, the fountain pen market declined, but the brand demonstrated its ingenuity and creativity by creating the Candy series for the younger generation and the world’s thinnest fountain pen, the Chalana. The success was immense, with sales exceeding one million units.

Today, Sailor fountain pens are available in different ranges: from the 1911 model to the Professional Gear, as well as the superb pens covered with urushi lacquer or with patterns drawn using the maki-e technique. Each model is available in different sizes: slim, large and the masterful King of Pens, which is more for men. Sailor has always aimed for excellence in its designs. The quality of the fountain pens is undeniable, both in terms of the choice of materials and the design. The attributes are gold-plated, including the screw thread, on each copy.

The nibs manufactured by the brand are considered among the best in the world, and not without reason. They give their owners an incomparable smoothness and glide over the paper: writing with a Sailor nib is a matter of course for connoisseurs and novices alike. Depending on the size of the pen, the nib may be made of 14 or 21 carat gold, sometimes with 24 carat gold plating. The brand knows how to surround itself with the best nib masters in the world to offer collectors nibs of exceptional quality offering a unique writing experience. Note the Naginata Togi, the Naginata Emperor or the Naginata Concord whose tip is reminiscent of the nose of the famous Concorde aircraft.

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top
Independently verified
88 reviews

Sailor

L’histoire de la marque débute en 1911 quand M. Sakata et son frère fondent la Sakata Manufactory, une entreprise de production de plumes en or massif. … tout lire

Stylos-plume Sailor

Encres Sailor

Accessoires Sailor

L'histoire

L’histoire de la marque débute en 1911 quand M. Sakata et son frère fondent la Sakata Manufactory, une entreprise de production de plumes en or massif. En 1917, l’entreprise change de nom au profit de la Sailor Pen Sakata-Manufactory Co. et commence à concevoir ses premiers stylos-plume. Le nom Sailor a été choisi par M. Sakata en hommage à un marin britannique qu’il avait rencontré en 1911 et qui lui avait offert un stylo-plume.

La société acquiert une crédibilité et une notoriété importantes après la visite de l’usine du Prince impérial Hirohito en 1926. Honorés et encouragés par cette marque de confiance, les ingénieurs conçoivent des modèles toujours plus innovants et uniques sur le marché qui atteint son apogée au début des années 1930.

En 1949, l’entreprise invente la machine à injection de plastique qui va lui permettre de créer les premiers modèles avec ce matériau. Jusqu’ici, seuls l’ébonite et le celluloïd étaient utilisés par les fabricants. Ce nouveau matériau va lui ouvrir tous les possibles en matière de création.

Toujours en avance sur ses concurrents, Sailor crée en 1957 les premières cartouches d’encre vraiment fonctionnelles pour stylos-plume et invente, par voie de conséquence, le mot « cartouche ».

Sa position sur le marché continue de se renforcer lorsque la société conçoit en 1969 les premières plumes en or 21 carats, offrant ainsi à l’utilisateur une douceur et une élasticité sur le papier hors du commun.

A partir des années 1970, le marché du stylo-plume décline, mais la marque fait preuve d’ingéniosité et de créativité en créant la série Candy pour la jeune génération ou encore le stylo-plume le plus fin du monde, le Chalana. Le succès est immense puisque les ventes dépassent le million d’exemplaires.

Aujourd’hui, les stylos-plume Sailor se déclinent en différentes gammes : du modèle 1911 au Professional Gear, en passant par les superbes stylos recouverts de laque urushi ou de motifs dessinés selon la technique du maki-e. Chaque modèle est proposé dans différentes tailles : slim, large et le magistral King of Pens, plutôt à destination des messieurs. Sailor a toujours visé l’excellence pour ses créations. Ainsi la qualité des stylos-plume est indéniable, aussi bien en matière de choix des matériaux que de design. Les attributs sont plaqué or, y compris le pas de vis, sur chaque exemplaire.

Quant aux plumes fabriquées par la marque, elles sont considérées parmi les meilleures du monde et non sans raison. Elles procurent à leur propriétaire une sensation de douceur et de glisse sur le papier incomparable : écrire avec une plume Sailor relève, aussi bien pour les connaisseurs que les néophytes, de l’évidence. En fonction de la taille du stylo, la plume peut-être en or 14 ou 21 carats, parfois plaquée or 24 carats. La marque sait d’ailleurs s’entourer des meilleurs Maîtres des plumes au monde pour proposer aux collectionneurs des plumes d’une qualité exceptionnelle offrant une expérience d’écriture unique. Notons la Naginata Togi, la Naginata Emperor ou encore la Naginata Concord dont la pointe n’est pas sans rappeler le nez du fameux avion Concorde.

Panier
Retour en haut
Vérifié indépendamment
124 avis