Herbin

The history of the Herbin company is a true adventure. Founded in 1670 under the reign of Louis XIV, then 32 years old, the Herbin company manufactures sealing wax and fine stationery… read more

Herbin inks

Herbin blotters

history

The history of Herbin is a true adventure. Founded in 1670 under the reign of Louis XIV, then 32 years old, Herbin manufactures sealing wax and fine stationery. Its founders travelled throughout the Mediterranean region and Asia to export their products. At the time, it took six months to reach the Levant, with all the risks that such a journey entailed: storms, fevers, pirates and the dangerous passage around the Cape of Good Hope. From these expeditions, the travellers brought back techniques and new formulas that enabled them to improve the wax and that still make it one of the best sealing waxes today.

In 1798, Jacques Herbin, a member of the fourth generation and full of ambition, decided to create his own ink. The manufacturing process and know-how improved from generation to generation. The company produces inks with luminous hues and incomparable shades, imbued with the colours of the landscapes and spices brought back from the expeditions.

Over the years, Herbin inks became well known and won numerous awards at the major industry exhibitions in London and Paris. The company also registered trademarks: Perle des Encres (created in 1700), Violet ink used in schools under the Third Republic and Travellers’ ink. It should also be noted that a special black ink was created by Herbin for the writer Victor Hugo.

In 2003, the company became part of the Exacompta Clairefontaine group and created the JACQUES HERBIN collection, which offers a complete range of writing instruments, inks, stationery and small leather goods to writing, art and calligraphy enthusiasts. Among the inks, several ranges have been created, notably 1670 inks, which celebrate the birth of the brand, and 1798 inks, in homage to the year the inks were launched. These two ranges of glittering colours with their gold or silver glitter are housed in beautiful wax-sealed bottles.

The ink is still made in France by hand and Herbin’s ambition has not changed: “To give body and colour to our thoughts“.

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top
Independently verified
88 reviews

Herbin

C’est une véritable aventure que l’histoire de la maison Herbin. Fondée en 1670 sous le règne de Louis XIV alors âgé de 32 ans, la maison Herbin fabrique de la cire à cacheter et de la papeterie fine… tout lire

Encres Herbin

Tampons-buvards Herbin

L'histoire

C’est une véritable aventure que l’histoire de la maison Herbin. Fondée en 1670 sous le règne de Louis XIV alors âgé de 32 ans, la maison Herbin fabrique de la cire à cacheter et de la papeterie fine. Ses fondateurs parcourent la région méditerranéenne et l’Asie pour exporter leurs produits. A l’époque, il faut six mois pour gagner le pays du Levant avec tous les risques qu’un tel voyage suppose : tempêtes, fièvres, pirates ou encore le passage si dangereux du Cap de Bonne Espérance. De ces expéditions, les voyageurs rapportent des techniques et de nouvelles formules qui leur permettent d’améliorer la cire et qui font de celle-ci encore aujourd’hui l’une des meilleures cires à cacheter.

En 1798, Jacques Herbin, membre de la quatrième génération et plein d’ambition, fait le pari de créer sa propre encre. Les procédés de fabrication et le savoir-faire s’améliorent de génération en génération. L’entreprise produit des encres aux teintes lumineuses et aux nuances incomparables, empreintes de la couleur des paysages et des épices rapportés des expéditions.

Au fil du temps, les encres Herbin assoient leur notoriété et gagnent de multiples récompenses lors des grandes expositions de l’industrie de Londres et Paris. La maison procède également à des dépôts de marques : la Perle des Encres (créée en 1700), l’Encre violette utilisée dans les écoles sous la IIIème République ou encore l’Encre des voyageurs. Notons également qu’une encre noire spéciale a été créée par Herbin pour l’écrivain Victor Hugo.

En 2003, la société entre dans le groupe Exacompta Clairefontaine et crée la collection JACQUES HERBIN qui propose une gamme complète aux passionnés d’écriture, d’art et de calligraphie : instruments d’écriture, encres, papeterie et petite maroquinerie. Parmi les encres, plusieurs gammes sont créées notamment les encres 1670, qui célèbrent la naissance de la marque, et les encres 1798, en hommage à l’année de lancement des encres. Ces deux gammes de couleurs scintillantes grâces à leurs paillettes dorées ou argentées sont logées dans de magnifiques flacons cachetés à la cire.

L’encre est toujours fabriquée de manière artisanale en France et l’ambition de la maison Herbin n’a pas changé : « Donner corps et couleurs à nos pensées ».

Panier
Retour en haut
Vérifié indépendamment
124 avis