Pilot

The story of the birth of the Pilot brand is a fascinating one. In 1918, Ryosuke Namiki, then a teacher at the Tokyo Merchant Marine School, was dissatisfied with the writing and drawing instruments on the market and sought to improve them for his professional needs… read more

Pilot fountain pens

Pilot inks

history

The story of the birth of the Pilot brand is a fascinating one. In 1918, Ryosuke Namiki, then a teacher at the Tokyo Merchant Marine School, was dissatisfied with the writing and drawing instruments on the market and sought to improve them for his professional needs. So he made his first pen nib using gold for the body and osmiridium (an alloy of iridium, osmium, ruthenium, platinum, rhodium and gold) for the tip. It was such a revolution that he created, with his colleague Masao Wada, a nib manufacturing company: the Namiki Manufacturing Company.

Ryosuke Namiki soon began designing fountain pens. In order to protect them from scratches, he patented a process allowing him to apply lacquer to the ebonite barrels. This urushi lacquer comes exclusively from an Asian tree, the Japanese varnish. Applied in many layers (up to 20), it sublimates the fountain pen by giving it an incomparable shine. Ryosuke Namiki travels the world to present his pens and forms a partnership with the British Alfred Dunhill to market them under the brand name Dunhill-Namiki Fountain Pen. In order to develop this art and to magnify his models, Ryosuke Namiki joined Gonroku Matsuda, master lacquerer and famous maki-e artist, in 1930 to found the Kokkokai art school within his company. The maki-e technique (meaning “sprinkled paint”) consists of blowing gold powder onto a previously drawn and still wet pattern on the lacquered piece. This school still exists today and beautiful models are made every day.

In order to cope with the growing market after the war, the founder decided to market less luxurious (unlacquered) pieces under the Pilot brand. In 1963, the first fountain pen without a cap was created: the Capless. The instrument is equipped with a complex precision mechanism that lowers the fountain pen by rotating the barrel. The next version in 1964 allowed the nib to be extended and retracted by pressing a button at the opposite end of the pen. This revolutionary pen is still very successful today, so much so that Pilot has created the Capless LS (Luxury & Silence). This new model is more luxurious and quieter in the action of its mechanism. In addition to the pusher to make the nib go out, it is equipped with a small fin to make it go in.

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top
Independently verified
88 reviews

Pilot

C’est une histoire tout à fait fascinante que celle de la naissance de la marque Pilot. En 1918, Ryosuke Namiki, alors professeur à l’école de la Marine marchande de Tokyo, n’est pas satisfait des instruments d’écriture et de dessin qu’il trouve sur le marché et cherche à les améliorer pour ses besoins professionnels… tout lire

Stylos-plume Pilot

Encres Pilot

L'histoire

C’est une histoire tout à fait fascinante que celle de la naissance de la marque Pilot. En 1918, Ryosuke Namiki, alors professeur à l’école de la Marine marchande de Tokyo, n’est pas satisfait des instruments d’écriture et de dessin qu’il trouve sur le marché et cherche à les améliorer pour ses besoins professionnels. Il fabrique donc sa première plume pour stylo à l’aide d’or pour le corps et d’osmiridium (alliage d’iridium, d’osmium, de ruthénium, de platine, de rhodium et d’or) pour la pointe. C’est une telle révolution qu’il crée, avec son collègue Masao Wada, une entreprise de fabrication de plumes : la Namiki Manufacturing Company.

Très vite Ryosuke Namiki se met à la conception de stylos-plume. Afin de les protéger des rayures, il brevète un procédé lui permettant de mettre de la laque sur les corps en ébonite. Cette laque urushi provient exclusivement d’un arbre asiatique, le Vernis du Japon. Apposée en de nombreuses couches (jusqu’à 20), elle sublime le stylo-plume en lui donnant une brillance et éclat incomparables. Ryosuke Namiki parcourt le monde pour présenter ses stylos et forme un partenariat avec le Britannique Alfred Dunhill pour les commercialiser sous la marque Dunhill-Namiki Fountain Pen. Afin de développer cet art et magnifier ses modèles, Ryosuke Namiki s’associe en 1930 à Gonroku Matsuda, maître laqueur et célèbre artiste de maki-e, pour fonder l’école d’art Kokkokai au sein de son entreprise. La technique du maki-e (signifiant « peinture parsemée ») consiste à souffler de la poudre d’or sur un motif préalablement dessiné et encore humide sur la pièce laquée. Cette école existe toujours aujourd’hui et de magnifiques modèles y sont fabriqués tous les jours.

Pour faire face au marché toujours plus croissant après-guerre, le fondateur décide de commercialiser des pièces moins luxueuses (non laquées) sous la marque Pilot. En 1963, le premier stylo-plume dépourvu de capuchon voit le jour : le Capless. L’instrument est doté d’un mécanisme de précision complexe qui fait descendre le bloc-plume par rotation du corps. La version suivante en 1964 permet de sortir puis rentrer la plume par simple pression sur un bouton situé à l’extrémité opposée du stylo. Ce stylo révolutionnaire rencontre aujourd’hui toujours le même succès, à telle enseigne que Pilot a créé Le Capless LS (Luxury & Silence). Ce nouveau modèle se veut luxueux et plus silencieux dans l’action de son mécanisme. Outre le poussoir pour faire sortir la plume, il est doté d’un petit aileron pour la faire rentrer.

Panier
Retour en haut
Vérifié indépendamment
124 avis