Faber-Castell

The exciting history of the brand dates back to 1761. Caspar Faber, a carpenter by trade, began making pencils to sell at the Nuremberg market in Germany… read more

Faber-Castell fountain pens

Faber-Castell inks

Faber-Castell converters

history

The exciting history of the brand dates back to 1761. Caspar Faber, a carpenter by trade, began to make pencils and sell them on the market in Nuremberg, Germany. His son Anton Wilhelm converted the pencil workshop into a modern factory near Stein. This is still the company’s headquarters today. His son Georg Leonhard was responsible for the company’s continued existence in a difficult political and economic environment. In 1839, Caspar’s great-grandson Lothar Faber, at the age of 22, contributed to the international development of the company with his determination and business skills. His intelligence and creativity enabled him to develop innovative techniques of such modernity that the criteria and characteristics he had defined are still used today by specialists in the field (length, diameter and hardness of the mine).

After travelling the world, he developed his company in the United States, then in London and Paris as well as in several German cities. He acquired a graphite mine in Siberia, whose exceptional quality of the material further enhanced the brand’s reputation. On the strength of his success, the imitations of the competition exploded. He therefore lobbied for the creation of a law for the protection of trademarks in Germany. Thanks to the mobilisation of his supporters, the law is passed in his favour.

His generosity and social commitment earned him a knighthood in 1862 and the title of baron in 1881. He counted on his only son to succeed him, but the latter died prematurely at the age of 42. At the dawn of the 20th century, Lothar’s granddaughter Ottilie von Faber married Alexander zu Castell-Rüdenhausen, who took over the company and renamed it Faber-Castell. Lothar Faber’s thoughtfulness led him to declare in his will that the name of the company should always contain his surname.

Unfortunately, the First World War led to the loss of the companies in the USA, London and Paris. The Count expanded the Stein factory, which was taken over by his son Roland in 1928, who developed metal mechanical pencils which he patented. This was followed by the creation of ballpoint pens, felt-tips and markers. He managed the company for fifty years. Today, his son Anton von Faber-Castell, representing the eighth generation, is at the head of this empire.

The fountain pen was introduced at Faber-Castell in 1935 and experienced a major boom in the 1960s with the increase in demand from schoolchildren. The models were made of resin, wood or metal and the nibs were made of stainless steel. The company decided to focus on prestige and created a line of luxury writing instruments under the brand name Graf von Faber-Castell (Count of Faber-Castell). The models are made of precious materials, wood and metals (ebony, platinum) and are equipped with an 18k gold nib. Moreover, the manufacturing processes are the same as those used in jewellery, and each fountain pen requires almost a hundred steps to make, most of them by hand. The cap of the brand’s fountain pens is recognisable by its famous hinged clip and the family crest on the top of the cap of some models. Since 2003, Graf von Faber-Castell has produced each year a limited edition “Pen of the Year”. Each model is handcrafted using rare and precious materials such as stingray leather, ivory and jade.

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top
Independently verified
88 reviews

Faber-Castell

L’histoire tout à fait passionnante de la marque remonte à 1761. Menuisier de métier, Caspar Faber se met à la fabrication de crayons à papier qu’il vend sur le marché de Nuremberg en Allemagne… tout lire

Stylos-plume Faber-Castell

Encres Faber-Castell

Converteurs Faber-Castell

L'histoire

L’histoire tout à fait passionnante de la marque remonte à 1761. Menuisier de métier, Caspar Faber se met à la fabrication de crayons à papier qu’il vend sur le marché de Nuremberg en Allemagne. Son fils Anton Wilhelm transforme l’atelier de crayons en manufacture moderne près de Stein. C’est aujourd’hui toujours le siège de la société. Son fils Georg Leonhard s’occupera un temps de la pérennité de l’entreprise dans un contexte difficile tant au niveau politique qu’économique. En 1839, c’est l’arrière-petit-fils de Caspar, Lothar Faber, qui contribue, dès l’âge de 22 ans, au développement international de la société, grâce à sa pugnacité et à ses compétences en matière de gestion d’entreprise. Son intelligence et sa créativité lui permettent de mettre au point des techniques innovantes d’une telle modernité que les critères et les caractéristiques qu’il avait définis sont de nos jours encore utilisés par les spécialistes du domaine (longueur, diamètre et dureté de la mine).

Après avoir parcouru le monde, il développe sa société aux États-Unis puis à Londres et Paris ainsi que dans plusieurs villes d’Allemagne. Il acquiert une mine de graphite en Sibérie, dont la qualité exceptionnelle du matériau appuie davantage la renommée de la marque. Fort de son succès, les imitations de la concurrence explosent. Il milite donc pour la création d’une loi pour la protection des marques en Allemagne. Grace à une mobilisation de ses partisans, la loi est votée en sa faveur.

Sa générosité et son engagement social lui valent d’être anobli en 1862 et de recevoir le titre de baron en 1881. Il compte sur son fils unique pour lui succéder, mais celui-ci disparaît prématurément à 42 ans. Nous sommes à l’aube du XXème siècle : la petite fille de Lothar, Ottilie von Faber, épouse Alexander zu Castell-Rüdenhausen qui prend la direction de l’entreprise et la renomme Faber-Castell. La prévenance de Lothar Faber lui ayant fait déclarer dans son testament que le nom de l’entreprise devrait toujours contenir son patronyme.

Malheureusement, la première guerre mondiale engendre la perte des entreprises aux États-Unis, Londres et Paris. Le comte agrandit alors l’usine de Stein, reprise par son fils Roland en 1928 qui développe des porte-mines en métal qu’il fait breveter. S’ensuit la création de stylos à bille, feutres et marqueurs. Il gérera l’entreprise pendant cinquante ans. Aujourd’hui c’est son fils Anton von Faber-Castell, représentant de la huitième génération, qui est à la tête de cet empire.

Le stylo-plume fait son entrée chez Faber-Castell en 1935 et connaît un essor important dans les années 60 avec la hausse de la demande écolière. Les modèles sont fabriqués en résine, en bois ou en métal et les plumes sont en acier inoxydable. La société décide alors de miser sur le prestige et crée une ligne d’instruments d’écriture de luxe sous la marque Graf von Faber-Castell (Comte de Faber-Castell). Les modèles sont fabriqués avec des matériaux, bois et métaux précieux (ébène, platine) et sont dotés d’une plume en or 18k. Par ailleurs, les procédés de fabrication sont les mêmes que ceux utilisés en bijouterie et chaque stylo-plume nécessite près d’une centaine d’étapes à sa réalisation, la plupart à la main. Le capuchon des stylo-plumes de la marque est reconnaissable entre tous grâce à sa fameuse agrafe articulée ainsi que le blason de la famille que l’on retrouve sur le dessus du capuchon de certains modèles. Depuis 2003, Graf von Faber-Castell produit chaque année une série limitée avec le « Stylo de l’année ». Chaque modèle est conçu de façon artisanale, avec des matériaux rares et précieux tels le cuir galuchat, l’ivoire ou encore le jade.

Panier
Retour en haut
Vérifié indépendamment
124 avis