Montegrappa

In 1912, Heinrich Helm and Alessandro Marzotto founded the first Italian fountain pen factory. The bell tower of the Casa Erizzo private church inspired the creation of one of their first models in 1915, the Reminiscence… read more

Montegrappa fountain pens

Montegrappa cartridges

history

In 1912, Heinrich Helm and Alessandro Marzotto founded the first Italian fountain pen factory.

The bell tower of the Casa Erizzo private church inspired the creation of one of their first models in 1915, the Reminiscence. Its octagonal silhouette is still recognisable today and is a hallmark of the brand, as is the rotating ballpoint clasp that was created later and is found on most models.

The pieces are mainly made of ebonite or galalith, the latter allowing to make marbled models before the discovery of celluloid in the 1920s. This material, which allowed complete freedom in the creation of coloured models, gave the firm a new lease of life. It took the name of Montegrappa in 1928 and offered colourful, marbled and sparkling models.

In 1938, Montegrappa met a stationery merchant. Leopoldo Tullio Aquila, a lover of nibs and beauty in general, built a fruitful relationship with the company’s directors that has lasted for four generations. His descendant Gianfranco Aquila acquired the company in 1981 and travelled around the world to present the brand. In 2000, the company was taken over by the Richemond group, before being taken over by the Aquila family nine years later.

Montegrappa manufactures pieces that are meticulously crafted with an eye for detail. The brand also makes a point of paying tribute to characters or events that have made world history. These models are made from precious materials and metals. For example, the model released in 2000 celebrates the Great Jubilee of the Catholic Church or the Muhammad Ali, the Dante Alighieri: the Inferno, the Queen or the Hemingway. These fountain pens are true works of art.

In 2018, Montegrappa created two pioneering personalisation platforms: Atelier and Configuratore. The first one allows to have any design element the applicant likes engraved or painted (portrait, drawing). The second allows the customer to choose a basic model and adapt the material and colours to suit his or her needs. All of Montegrappa’s know-how and requirements for passionate customers can be found in these customisation services.

In 2020, Montegrappa introduces the letter M ambigram which will be found on all models.

Montegrappa is now the oldest Italian fountain pen company. Its models are unmistakable for their typical clip and beautifully engraved nib, but above all for their strong presence in the world of writing.

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top
Independently verified
88 reviews

Montegrappa

C’est en 1912 que Heinrich Helm et Alessandro Marzotto fondent la première manufacture de de stylos-plume italienne. C’est le clocher de l’église privée de la Casa Erizzo qui inspire la création d’un de leurs premiers modèles en 1915, le Reminiscence… tout lire

Stylos-plume Montegrappa

Cartouches Montegrappa

L'histoire

C’est en 1912 que Heinrich Helm et Alessandro Marzotto fondent la première manufacture de de stylos-plume italienne.

C’est le clocher de l’église privée de la Casa Erizzo qui inspire la création d’un de leurs premiers modèles en 1915, le Reminiscence. Sa silhouette octogonale est reconnaissable entre toutes encore aujourd’hui et signe la marque, tout comme l’agrafe à bille rotative qui sera créée plus tard et que l’on retrouve sur la plupart des modèles.

Les pièces sont fabriquées essentiellement en ébonite ou en galalithe, cette dernière permettant de réaliser des modèles marbrés avant la découverte du celluloïd dans les années 1920. Ce matériau qui permet toute liberté dans la réalisation de modèles de couleurs donne un nouvel essor à la firme. Elle prend le nom de Montegrappa en 1928 et propose des modèles chamarrés, marbrés et étincelants.

En 1938, Montegrappa fait la rencontre d’un marchand de papeterie. Leopoldo Tullio Aquila, amoureux des plumes et du beau en général, construit avec les dirigeants de l’entreprise une relation fructueuse qui dure depuis 4 générations. Son descendant Gianfranco Aquila acquiert la firme en 1981 et fait le tour de monde pour présenter la marque. En 2000 elle passe sous la direction du groupe Richemond, avant d’être reprise par la famille Aquila neuf ans plus tard.

Montegrappa fabrique des pièces dont le travail minutieux et le souci du détail sont prégnants. La marque met également un point d’honneur à rendre hommage à des personnages ou événements qui ont fait l’histoire du monde. Ces modèles sont réalisés dans des matériaux et métaux précieux. Ainsi le modèle sorti en 2000 célébrant le Grand Jubilée de l’Église catholique ou encore le Muhammad Ali, le Dante Alighieri : l’Inferno, le Queen ou l’Hemingway. Ces stylos-plumes sont de véritables œuvres d’art.

En 2018, Montegrappa crée deux plateformes de personnalisation pionnières : Atelier et Configuratore. La première permet de faire graver ou peindre n’importe quel élément de conception qui plaît au demandeur (portrait, dessin). La deuxième propose au client de choisir un modèle de base et d’adapter le matériau et les couleurs selon son choix. Tout le savoir-faire et l’exigence de Montegrappa pour des clients passionnés se retrouvent dans ces services de personnalisation.

En 2020, Montegrappa introduit l’ambigramme de la lettre M qui se retrouvera sur tous les modèles.

Montegrappa est aujourd’hui la plus ancienne firme italienne de stylos-plume. Ses modèles sont reconnaissables entre tous tant par leur agrafe typique que par leur plume superbement gravée, mais surtout par leur présence affirmée dans l’univers de l’écriture.

Panier
Retour en haut
Vérifié indépendamment
124 avis