Platinum

It was in 1919 that Shunichi Nakata established a fountain pen resale business. Determined to create his own products and convinced that “success cannot be achieved without effort“, he founded the Nakaya Seisakusho company in 1924 … read all

Platinum fountain pens

HISTORY

It was in 1919 that Shunichi Nakata established a fountain pen resale business. Determined to create his own products and convinced that “success cannot be achieved without effort“, he founded the Nakaya Seisakusho company in 1924 and launched his first fountain pens in Ueno, Tokyo, which he sold by mail order, pioneering catalogue sales in Japan. In 1925, he created his first models covered with urushi lacquer and patterns made using the maki-e technique.

In 1928, he changed the name of the company to “Platinum Fountain Pen” and created its logo which represents the earth sphere with his initials “SN” separated by a star. This motif represents his aspiration to become the master of metals and the world’s leading fountain pen manufacturer. In the 1930s and 1940s, the company exported its fountain pens throughout Asia.

In 1952, after the war troubles, Platinum imported a plastic moulding machine from the UK to promote automation. But competition in the fountain pen business was becoming increasingly fierce. In order to stand out from the crowd, all the technical experts pool their knowledge and launch a “10-year pen campaign”: the stainless steel nibs are now equipped with an iridium tip, which ensures their longevity and resistance. This technique, considered difficult, allowed the company to extend the guarantee on their fountain pens to 10 years.

In 1958, Platinum proved to the world that its ink did not leak, even at high altitudes, by sending an expedition of mountaineers into the Himalayas with Platinum fountain pens.

Subsequently, in order to produce a luxury fountain pen, Platinum succeeded in creating an 18-carat gold nib, after three years of trial and error. Until now, 14-carat gold was considered the optimal material for the nib. Reversing this conventional wisdom in the industry, Platinum created a pentagonal shaped nib to solve the problem of 18 carat gold being too soft and to take advantage of its elasticity. The brilliance of 18 carat gold reinforced the luxury image of fountain pens and these new models were gradually welcomed by customers.

In the mid-1970s, Platinum sought to create the ideal fountain pen model, which would be optimal for writing Japanese letters. This was achieved in 1978 with the “#3776”, whose name evokes the altitude of Mount Fuji, one of the great symbols of Japan. This model will be improved in 2011 in several aspects, notably the integration of a sort of internal plastic cap with a spring, which prevents the nib from drying out for a period of 2 years. This revolutionary and completely new system is called “Slip & Seal” and the new model is re-launched as “#3776 CENTURY”.

In 2010, a new series of fountain pens is launched for the first time in 16 years. This unique, high-end “Izumo” series illustrates Japan’s wonderful traditional crafts, distinctive materials (such as urushi lacquer) and cultures to protect.

Platinum celebrated its centenary in 2019. Its longevity is due not only to the exceptional quality of its products, but also to the respect of its beliefs, which are reflected in its craftsmanship: “Customers’ pleasure is our delight” and “Our mission is to bring the near future closer to the customers“.

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top
Independently verified
88 reviews

Platinum

C’est en 1919 que Shunichi Nakata créé un commerce de revente stylos-plume. Déterminé à créer ses propres produits et convaincu que « Le succès ne peut être atteint sans effort », il fonde en 1924 … tout lire

Stylos-plume Platinum

L'histoire

C’est en 1919 que Shunichi Nakata créé un commerce de revente stylos-plume. Déterminé à créer ses propres produits et convaincu que « Le succès ne peut être atteint sans effort », il fonde en 1924 la société Nakaya Seisakusho et lance ses premiers stylos-plume à Ueno, Tokyo, qu’il vend par correspondance, pionnier de la vente par catalogue au Japon. En 1925, il créé ses premiers modèles revêtus de laque urushi et de motifs réalisés selon la technique du maki-e.

En 1928, il change le nom de la société en « Platinum Fountain Pen » et crée son logo qui représente la sphère terrestre dans laquelle se trouvent ses initiales « SN » séparées par une étoile. Ce motif représente son aspiration à devenir le maître des métaux et le numéro un mondial des stylos-plume. Dans les années 1930-1940, la société exporte ses stylos-plume dans toute l’Asie.

En 1952, après les troubles de la guerre, Platinum importe du Royaume-Uni une machine à mouler le plastique afin de promouvoir l’automatisation. Mais la concurrence dans le domaine du stylo-plume se fait de plus en plus rude. Pour se démarquer, tous les experts techniques réunissent leurs connaissances et lancent une « Campagne de stylos de 10 ans » : les plumes en acier inoxydable sont à présent dotées d’une pointe en iridium ce qui leur assure longévité et résistance. Cette technique, considérée comme difficile, permet à la société d’étendre la garantie de leurs stylos-plume à 10 ans.

En 1958, Platinum prouve au monde entier que l’encre de ses modèles ne fuit pas, même en haute altitude, en envoyant une expédition d’alpinistes dans les montagnes de l’Himalaya, munis de stylo-plume de la marque.

Par la suite et dans le but de produire un stylo-plume de luxe, Platinum réussit à créer une plume en or 18 carats, après trois ans d’essais et d’erreurs. Jusqu’ici, l’or 14 carats était considéré comme le matériau optimal pour la plume. Renversant cette idée reçue dans l’industrie, Platinum crée une plume de forme pentagonale afin de résoudre le problème de l’or 18 carats trop mou et de tirer parti de son élasticité. L’éclat de l’or 18 carats renforçant l’image de luxe des stylos-plume, ces nouveaux modèles sont ainsi progressivement bien accueillis par les clients.

Au milieu des années 1970, Platinum cherche à créer le modèle de stylo-plume idéal, qui serait optimal pour écrire les lettres japonaises. C’est chose faite en 1978 avec le « #3776 », dont le nom évoque l’altitude du Mont Fuji, l’un des grands symboles du Japon. Ce modèle sera amélioré en 2011 sous plusieurs aspects, notamment l’intégration dans le capuchon d’une sorte de capuchon interne en plastique doté d’un ressort, qui permet de prévenir tout séchage de la plume pendant une durée de 2 ans. Ce système révolutionnaire et tout à fait novateur est appelé « Slip & Seal » et le nouveau modèle est relancé sous le nom de « #3776 CENTURY ».

En 2010, une nouvelle série de stylos-plume est lancée pour la première fois en 16 ans. Cette série unique et haut de gamme « Izumo » illustre les merveilleux métiers traditionnels du Japon, les matériaux distinctifs (comme la laque urushi) et les cultures à protéger.

Platinum a fêté son centenaire en 2019. Sa longévité est due non seulement à la qualité exceptionnelle de ses produits, mais également au respect de ses convictions qui se reflètent dans son savoir-faire : « Le plaisir de nos clients est notre plaisir » et « Notre mission est de rapprocher l’avenir proche des clients ».

Panier
Retour en haut
Vérifié indépendamment
124 avis